Governor Mike Parson declared a state of emergency in Missouri in response to worsening conditions along the Missouri and Mississippi River systems as a result of release from upstream reservoirs, snow melt and excessive rainfall. Governor Parson also activated the Missouri State Emergency Operations Plan, which allows state agencies to coordinate directly with local jurisdictions. Earlier today, the Governor signed Executive Order 19-05 making the emergency declaration official. MO Gov. Parson Declares State of Emergency in Response to Flooding

“The rising floodwaters are affecting more Missouri communities and farms, closing more roads and threatening levees, water treatment plants and other critical infrastructure,” Governor Parson said in a release . “We will continue to work closely with our local partners to assess needs and provide resources to help as Missourians continue this flood fight and as we work to assist one another.” 

Missouri’s State Emergency Operations Center was partially activated on March 15 in response to flooding, and the Department of Public Safety and its State Emergency Management Agency and Missouri State Highway Patrol along with the Missouri Department of Transportation have been devoting additional resources to supporting communities since then.

Governor Parson reminded Missourians to always be careful around flooded areas and understand the risks floodwater poses.

  • Standing water can carry infectious diseases and hide hazards, including road damage, glass, and sewage.
  • Storm drains can create an extremely dangerous situation for anyone caught in the current.
  • Avoid walking through floodwater and keep children from playing in it.
  • Never attempt to drive over flooded roads.

HOS Suspended

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) also issued an emergency declaration for 16 states, including including Missouri, Iowa and Nebraska, due to the severe flooding. The declaration suspends HOS regulations for truckers providing “direct support of relief efforts” to affected areas.

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds and Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts both declared states of emergency for certain counties within their respective states. Iowa’s emergency declaration includes 36 counties, while Nebraska’s includes 53 counties. Each declaration waives hours-of-service (HOS) rules for truck drivers who are providing direct relief for the affected areas.

All states included in the declaration are Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Drivers can haul supplies, equipment, fuel and more to and from the affected states under the declaration. The declaration is effective through April 18 or through the duration of the emergency, whichever is less.

Questions? Contact Medallion Transport & Logistics

Medallion’s Safety Team is ready to assist with driver education and training to ensure the company’s fleet is safe on the road and compliant with the latest laws, as well as up-to-date with road recalls, closures and construction. For questions, give us a call at 704-235-0460 or send us an email to